Deleted
Deleted Member
Posts: 0
|
Post by Deleted on Jan 9, 2012 14:05:46 GMT -5
- - - - My question is how use Models in Q2 & Quark? - - - - 1) how can I load ( use ) new models in Q2?. 2) How do I get this models in Quark editor?. 3) Do i actually need a pak file file to get it working?. i do something wrong, %^& don't know what . This keep me really awake and busy couple days. Any help is welcome or a explanation in a map, bsp. ThX & Regards...
|
|
|
Post by knightmare on Jan 9, 2012 22:28:22 GMT -5
Are you trying to override the model of an item (see pinned topic by Paril in this forum), or place a static model in a map?
The latter will require a mod such as Lazarus (also built into KMQuake2) with its model_spawn and model_train entities. Unfortunately, model_spawn never really caught on as an addition to the game code used on deathmatch servers.
You can specify the model in the entity's properties, but it won't actually be visible in the editor. You'll need to use trial and error to get it positioned properly. But if you want to make your map specific to KMQuake2, you can use the entity alias scripting feature. You define a virtual entity that is a derivative of model_spawn or model_train, add it to your editor's entity list, and then you can view the model in-editor.
You don't need to put the model inside a pak file if you're distributing it with loose textures, etc. It would require an engine with *.pak support to load paks other than pak0-pak9, anyway (but with KMQ2, you can usually just rename the downloaded .zip file to .pk3 and drop in in baseq2 or a mod folder).
|
|
Deleted
Deleted Member
Posts: 0
|
Post by Deleted on Jan 10, 2012 15:44:02 GMT -5
Send you message with download link map file.
|
|
|
Post by knightmare on Jan 10, 2012 17:32:26 GMT -5
I took a look at the .map file. You're using model_spawn wrong. The model is specified with usermodel, not model, and you need to use forward slashes, not backslashes in the path name. Also, models/ is automatically added to the file path, so you should omit that.
I also looked at the models in the pak file, and they are in the wrong paths. The skins need to go where the skin specified inside the md2 is: models/fire/red.pcx models/objects/flame1.pcx models/objects/torch.pcx
You should also put the .md2 file where the skin is, or else edit the models to change the skin path. It's also a good practice not to put them under items/, since they aren't for items. Putting them under objects/ or mapobjects/ would be better.
Here's the .def file definition for Lazarus's model_spawn for reference. If you're using Radiant, you should use the kmquake2_lazarus.def file included with KMQuake2 as your entity list.
/*QUAKED model_spawn (1 0 0) (-8 -8 -8) (8 8 8) x Toggle x Player NoModel AnimOnce A MapPack model spawner. See Lazarus website for more info.
Spawnflags: TOGGLE: Start active, when triggered become inactive PLAYER: Set this if you want to use a player model. If usermodel is blank, model_spawn will use the model of the player. Otherwise the model found at players/<usermodel>/tris.md2 will be used. Note that if you specify a player model using usermodel, it must be a model that has been modified as described in the ActorPak documentation, or the model will not be skinned. NOMODEL: Don't use a model. Useful for placing particle effects and dynamic lights. ANIMONCE: Cycles through the animation once and then stops. Useful for lightning effects. --------------------- Key/Value pairs: "style" Specifies the animation type to use. 0: None (unless startframe and framenumbers are used) 1: ANIM01 - cycle between frames 0 and 1 at 2 hz 2: ANIM23 - cycle between frames 2 and 3 at 2 hz 3: ANIM_ALL - cycle through all frames at 2 hz 4: ANIM_ALLFAST - cycle through all frames at 10 hz
Note: The animation flags override startframe and framenumbers settings you may have enterered. ANIM_ALL and ANIM_ALLFAST don't do what you might think - rather than setting a framerate, these apparently cause the model to cycle through its ENTIRE sequence of animations in 0.5 or 0.1 seconds... which for monster and player models is of course not possible. Looks exceptionally goofy.
"usermodel" The model to load ("models/" will be tacked on to the front, or if PLAYER is set, "players/" will be tacked on to the front). "startframe" The starting frame : default 0 "framenumbers" The number of frames you want to display after startframe "health" If non-zero and solidstate is 3 or 4 (solid), the entity will be shootable. When destroyed, it blows up with a no-damage explosion. "solidstate" 1 - not solid at all. These models do not obey any sort of physics. If you place them up in the air or embedded in a wall they will stay there and be perfectly happy about it. 2 - solid. These models will "droptofloor" when spawned. If the health value is set they may be damaged. 3 - solid. Same as above but not affected by gravity. Model will remain in the same location. 4 - not solid but affected by gravity. Model will "droptofloor" when spawned. NOTE : if you want the model to be solid and/or drop to the floor then you must enter vector values into the following fields: "bleft" the point that is at the bottom left of the models bounding box in a model editor "tright" the point that is at the top left of the models bounding box in a model editor "effects" 1: ROTATE Rotate like a weapon 2: GIB 8: BLASTER Yellowish orange glow plus particles 16: ROCKET Rocket trail 32: GRENADE Grenade trail 64: HYPERBLASTER BLASTER w/o the particles 128: BFG Big green ball 256: COLOR_SHELL 512: POWERSCREEN Green power shield 16384: FLIES Ewwww 32768: QUAD Blue shell 65536: PENT Red shell 131072: TELEPORTER Teleporter particles 262144: FLAG1 Red glow 524288: FLAG2 Blue glow 1048576: IONRIPPER 2097152: GREENGIB 4194304: BLUE_HB Blue hyperblaster glow 8388608: SPINNING_LIGHTS Red spinning lights 16777216: PLASMA 33554432: TRAP 67108864: TRACKER 134217728: DOUBLE Yellow shell 268435456: SPHERETRANS Transparent 536870912: TAGTRAIL 1073741824: HALF_DAMAGE 2147483648: TRACKER_TRAIL "renderfx" 1: MINLIGHT Never completely dark 2: VIEWERMODEL 4: WEAPONMODEL 8: FULLBRIGHT 16: DEPTHHACK 32: TRANSLUCENT Transparent 64: FRAMELERP 128: BEAM 512: GLOW Pulsating glow of normal Q2 pickup items 1024: SHELL_RED 2048: SHELL_GREEN 4096: SHELL_BLUE 32768: IR_VISIBLE 65536: SHELL_DOUBLE 131072: SHELL_HALF_DAMAGE White shell 262144: USE_DISGUISE "movewith" Targetname of the entity to move with */
|
|
Deleted
Deleted Member
Posts: 0
|
Post by Deleted on Jan 12, 2012 23:36:47 GMT -5
Have new Quark setup for Kmquake2 ( Lazarus ) Models flame & torch works fine in Kmq2, a nice combination. Q3 statue gargoyle1 ( md3-script) also in map.. CoOL ThX Knightmare.. ---- Now Tweaking ,lighting adjustment.. Problemz again ( compile errors ). == Cleanup Compile txt info == XxxxxXxxxxxXxxxxXxxxxxX XxxxxXxxxxxXxxxxXxxxxxX == Cleanup Compile txt info ==
|
|
|
Post by knightmare on Jan 13, 2012 13:38:45 GMT -5
Arghrad is giving a usage-related error, so that means that there's something wrong with the command line. Look at the -gamedir parameter and what it's doing, or in this case, what it's not doing.
Kmqbsp3 is throwing an error because there's no "quake2" in the path. "Quake 2" != "quake2". It probably needs the quake2 path so it can find pak0.pak in baseq2. Also, why are you compiling your maps outside of your Quake2 folder (compilers can be outside, but the .map files shouldn't)? The compilers need to be able to load all textures used to allow animated textures, and also for correct radiosity.
|
|
Deleted
Deleted Member
Posts: 0
|
Post by Deleted on Jan 13, 2012 14:51:27 GMT -5
Yes everything is separate and organized. Have 4 complete q2 versions,with 4 different quark dirs.. and one biggg backup... Kmq2 goes well, it,s time clean Hdd !. "Quake 2" != "quake2". Yeah!, hitzz 100% JackPot!. Change & Rename path & throw compilers in baseq2\maps\ Everything is fine, Wow looks great in Kmq2 ... ( Multiplayer map NOT ready is only a sketch 20% ). - Screenshot Margaal23 2012 - - Final result Margaal23 - with working modelz on 27 March 2013 - - More info about model map - leray.proboards.com/thread/3303/margaal23-kmq2-model-map-2013= = = = = = = = = = = screenshot in Kmq2 come out dark.. shit.. post it anyway. << Update >>
|
|
|
Post by knightmare on Jan 13, 2012 18:04:24 GMT -5
Why move your compilers under baseq2/maps? They don't have to be in the same folder where the maps are, you can specify an absolute path for the map in the command line.
KMQ2 uses RGB scaling, so screenshots will be dark. You'll need to use an image editor to gamma-correct them.
|
|
Deleted
Deleted Member
Posts: 0
|
Post by Deleted on Jan 13, 2012 18:51:13 GMT -5
Huh hmm, oke yeah....did that because compile problemz, I thought it was Kmqbsp3.exe in conflict with Quark configuration. So find old Q2cafe topic, make compile batch file....,do or try something. Ok--> restored.. hehe.. dark screenshot, ( download GIMP now ). is your example map ready?. ..
|
|
|
Post by knightmare on Jan 14, 2012 0:24:05 GMT -5
I did some work on it yesterday, but I still need to make a new start room and pack all textures, sounds, models, etc. up. It may take a few more days.
|
|
Deleted
Deleted Member
Posts: 0
|
Post by Deleted on Jan 14, 2012 9:32:13 GMT -5
|
|
|
Post by grieve[Q2C] on Jan 9, 2022 6:36:00 GMT -5
I also looked at the models in the pak file, and they are in the wrong paths. The skins need to go where the skin specified inside the md2 is: models/fire/red.pcx models/objects/flame1.pcx models/objects/torch.pcx
yep ..... my question would be: how can I edit / change the skin - path inside the MD2 ?
|
|
|
Post by Guggenheim on Jan 9, 2022 21:56:22 GMT -5
I also looked at the models in the pak file, and they are in the wrong paths. The skins need to go where the skin specified inside the md2 is: models/fire/red.pcx models/objects/flame1.pcx models/objects/torch.pcx
yep ..... my question would be: how can I edit / change the skin - path inside the MD2 ?
Hi grieve! I can help you, I've done such thing before with MDL editor. Just give me the model.
|
|
|
Post by grieve[Q2C] on Jan 10, 2022 3:20:32 GMT -5
|
|
|
Post by Guggenheim on Jan 10, 2022 7:58:54 GMT -5
Here's gunner statue. Path should be like this:
models/grieve/gunner_statue
You should make a grayscale skin, name it skin.pcx in put in that directory.
You should configure Q2 path in MDL editor:
|
|